My very first furniture flip for profit

On my drive home from work in 2021, something caught my eye – a charming white 2-drawer side table left on the curb. Without overthinking, I decided to pick it up. Despite not knowing what I was getting into, my gut feeling said it had potential. You see, I’ve been refinishing furniture for personal use since my teenage years, but this find seemed different, a blank canvas begging for a creative touch.

The top of the side table had some bubbled spots, and as I began sanding, I discovered it was made of MDF (Medium Density Fiberboard). Using my 5″ orbital sander with a 120 grit sanding disc, I smoothed down the entire top. Since I had plans to paint the piece, I extended the sanding to the entire table. Realizing that the legs were solid wood, not MDF, I meticulously removed all the paint to reveal the bare wood.

To address the water-damaged areas on the top, I used DAP Plastic Wood Wood Filler. After applying and smoothing it over the damaged spots, I let it dry before sanding again with a 220 grit sanding disc and my orbital sander. A quick cleanup followed, wiping away the sanding dust with a microfiber cloth. For priming, I used Bulls Eye 1-2-3 Water-Based Primer, that I already had in my garage left over from previous DIY projects. 

After hearing glowing reviews from fellow Furniture Flippers and DIY enthusiasts on YouTube and Instagram about Fusion Mineral Paint, I made a beeline to a local shop that carries the paint. I was met with a mesmerizing array of paint colors, the one that immediately captured my attention the color Bayberry a deep, muted Olive Green.

Armed with a 2″ paint brush, I set to work. The application was a dream – smooth and with amazing coverage in the first coat. Once the initial coat dried, I lightly sanded it with 320 grit sandpaper to smooth out any brush strokes or areas where the paint was heavier to get a nice finish.

Once the second coat of paint was applied and dried, I went through the sanding process once more, using 320 grit sandpaper. To complete the transformation, I reattached the original drawer pulls, which I had sanded down to bare wood. Lastly I top coated the entire piece for extra protection with Minwax Polycrylic in a Matte Sheen. 

I was absolutely thrilled with the end result. Using items from around the house for staging, I took several photos from different angles and posted it on Facebook Marketplace and a local Next Door app.

To my surprise, within a few hours, my neighbor, just a few houses down, messaged me on Next Door expressing her desire to buy it. She explained that she had been on the lookout for a small table to fit into a corner of her room. The excitement of knowing my first piece was going to someone who not only valued my work but also appreciated my creativity was unparalleled. This experience hooked me, and I couldn’t wait to find another piece to flip. Oh, and the little profit I made on this piece was not bad either.

Supplies Used for this 2 Drawer Side Table / Nightstand

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. 

https://www.amazon.com/shop/repurposedpalm

Leave a Comment